Any conviction for driving under the influence in Nevada will disrupt your life in some way. Under state law, penalties get more serious with each subsequent offense within a seven-year period. Regardless of your prior record, Miley Law Firm, P.C. in Las Vegas offers strong advice and advocacy if you’ve been charged with DUI.
If you have any prior drunk-driving convictions, we will explain the potential punishments and develop a defensive strategy tailored to your situation. Whether your best option is to challenge the evidence brought against you, seek a reduced charge, or pursue substance abuse treatment as an alternative to incarceration, our firm is committed to secure a favorable resolution.
Have you been arrested for driving under the influence in Las Vegas? Contact the Miley Law Firm, P.C., today to request a consultation.
Many things can go wrong during the law enforcement process that begins when a driver is stopped on suspicion of drunk driving. Our firm conducts an in-depth examination of the facts to see what viable defenses can be raised.
Penalties associated with a first-time DUI offense include:
You might think that a BAC test result exceeding the legal limit means that you don’t have legal options, but a knowledgeable criminal defense lawyer can effectively fight the charges brought against you.
A second DUI conviction within a seven-year period carries a minimum sentence of 10 days, either in jail or as home confinement. The fine will be at least $750, and your license will be revoked for one year. Once you can drive again, you will need to use an ignition interlock device for half a year.
If you are arrested for a 2nd or subsequent drunk driving offense, it is essential to consult with an attorney as soon as possible. The penalties become more severe with each conviction. In order to obtain the most favorable outcome in your case, you will want to consult with a lawyer early in the process.
Once someone is found guilty of DUI for the third time within the seven-year timeframe, they are subject to a prison term of at least one and up to six years. A third conviction can also result in loss of driving privileges for three years and a fine between $2,000 and $5,000. The ignition interlock device period runs from one to three years.
Depending on the situation, a third-time DUI offender may benefit from undergoing a program of treatment. Pursuant to NRS 484C.340, a court may authorize treatment for third-time drunk driving offenders that have been diagnosed with an alcohol or substance use disorder.
In order to determine whether you would be eligible for a treatment program, contact our office to speak with an experienced attorney.
Drunk driving offenses are strictly prosecuted in Nevada. Without the help of an attorney, it is unlikely that your case will get reduced or dismissed. At the Miley Law Firm, our highly-qualified lawyers will conduct a thorough review of your case to determine what defenses may be applicable.
In some cases, it may be necessary to subpoena evidence, such as the calibration and maintenance records of the breathalyzer or the officer’s body cam video. This information can prove critical to obtaining a successful outcome. If your case cannot be dismissed, we will negotiate on your behalf for favorable terms or a reduction to the charges.
Deciding which attorney to hire after a drunk driving arrest can be overwhelming and frustrating. It can also be one of the most important decisions you make.
To obtain the best possible results after being charged with driving under the influence in Las Vegas:
Attorney Edward R. Miley is a former Justice of the Peace Pro Tempore for the Las Vegas Justice Court. He is a distinguished trial lawyer that will fight to protect your rights and secure your freedom. As a member of the National College of DUI Attorneys, he knows what it takes to win drunk driving cases and will work hard to get the results you deserve.
The Miley Law Firm, P.C., advocates for Nevada motorists who have been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Whether this is your first offense or you face the enhanced penalties given to multiple offenders, please call (702) 850-3600 or contact us online. We proudly represent clients throughout Nevada, with our main office located in Las Vegas.